Grown Ups.

I am really. REALLY. glad I didn’t buy these tickets myself. I mean I’ve seen bad movies before, but I am physically shaken by this one. I just thought it would be a standard, run-of-the-mill bad film. I figured it couldn’t be worse than Couple’s Retreat. However, my expectations were crushed in a way I never thought possible. So many face palm moments. I went with my friends so I could be social, and if they EVER accuse me of not caring for them in any way, I will laugh in their face. I mean for the love of God do we really need another Adam Sandler bro-fest movie that essentially pays him to just hang out with his friends?

However, the popcorn was unusually good.

um…that is all.

July 4, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. jeffwmarker replied:

    Yep, it was one of the laziest movies I’ve ever seen (and I see them for a living). I also thought Couples Retreat stunk, but at least there was a story to follow.

    And yet, it has made $77 million. A lot of people will watch these guys in anything. On the Grown Ups segment of The Film Fix, my co-host did the editing and ended it with Salma Hayek’s character nailing her own son in the crotch with a rock. Sums it up: if that type of comedy is worth $10 to you, go for it.

    Thanks for commenting on the blog. All best!

    • songunsung replied:

      yep, I walked out at the part where “Paul Blart” was walking around with a chicken bucket on his head, I guess that was supposed to elicit a hearty chuckle from the audience. It was kind of insulting, really. But I guess that’s what I get for expecting any more from the movie. My sentiments exactly! I actually thought going into the movie that it couldn’t possibly be worse than Couple’s Retreat. Boy…was I ever wrong! Anyway, regards! Perhaps I will read a post of yours soon about a movie that was actually worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

